Top 100 Most Followed Users on Twitter

Followers Following Tweets
# twitter users followers following tweets
1 user-img #ripkatycatKatie @katyperry 96,646,688 206 7,871
2 user-img Justin Bieber @justinbieber 92,678,020 302,728 30,647
3 user-img Barack Obama @BarackObama 86,305,625 630,696 15,441
4 user-img Taylor Swift @taylorswift13 84,041,440 244 4,161
5 user-img Rihanna @rihanna 70,600,433 1,131 9,902
6 user-img YouTube @YouTube 67,440,818 997 19,257
7 user-img Ellen DeGeneres @TheEllenShow 66,400,417 36,138 13,966
8 user-img xoxo, Joanne @ladygaga 65,721,968 129,693 8,283
9 user-img Twitter @Twitter 60,501,972 162 4,447
10 user-img Justin Timberlake @jtimberlake 58,492,605 234 3,590
11 user-img Britney Spears @britneyspears 51,733,902 392,058 5,138
12 user-img Cristiano Ronaldo @Cristiano 50,910,883 95 2,836
13 user-img Kim Kardashian West @KimKardashian 50,653,364 108 22,782
14 user-img CNN Breaking News @cnnbrk 47,130,692 122 54,632
15 user-img Selena Gomez @selenagomez 46,648,085 1,271 4,202
16 user-img jimmy fallon @jimmyfallon 45,237,057 7,472 9,680
17 user-img Ariana Grande @ArianaGrande 44,568,384 66,060 39,998
18 user-img Shakira @shakira 43,831,786 194 4,578
19 user-img Demi Lovato @ddlovato 41,884,561 464 15,616
20 user-img Jennifer Lopez @JLo 40,538,566 1,732 10,720
21 user-img Instagram @instagram 39,931,476 4 10,440
22 user-img Oprah Winfrey @Oprah 36,101,658 277 11,931
23 user-img The New York Times @nytimes 34,804,762 908 271,732
24 user-img Drizzy @Drake 34,600,217 639 1,710
25 user-img LeBron James @KingJames 34,557,150 167 5,312
26 user-img Bill Gates @BillGates 34,061,369 183 2,301
27 user-img CNN @CNN 33,018,413 1,120 124,006
28 user-img Kevin Hart @KevinHart4real 32,264,912 548 32,524
29 user-img Miley Ray Cyrus @MileyCyrus 32,046,671 372 8,453
30 user-img One Direction @onedirection 31,614,731 3,960 9,921
31 user-img SportsCenter @SportsCenter 31,513,786 1,676 93,021
32 user-img ESPN @espn 30,900,819 299 86,366
33 user-img BBC Breaking News @BBCBreaking 30,723,668 3 31,632
34 user-img Harry Styles. @Harry_Styles 29,793,990 2,024 5,347
35 user-img Lil Wayne WEEZY F @LilTunechi 29,465,744 44 1,607
36 user-img P!nk @Pink 29,274,033 430 6,231
37 user-img Wiz Khalifa @wizkhalifa 29,031,801 800 42,978
38 user-img Niall Horan @NiallOfficial 28,834,224 5,906 11,363
39 user-img Bruno Mars @BrunoMars 28,673,479 111 3,791
40 user-img Narendra Modi @narendramodi 28,466,689 1,695 14,469
41 user-img Neymar Jr @neymarjr 27,910,798 746 40,921
42 user-img Adele @Adele 27,910,444 157 287
43 user-img KANYE WEST @kanyewest 27,260,136 1 991
44 user-img Donald J. Trump @realDonaldTrump 27,136,676 43 34,663
45 user-img Kaka @KAKA 26,460,599 354 4,647
46 user-img Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH 26,295,759 91 2,659
47 user-img Amitabh Bachchan @SrBachchan 25,812,403 1,142 56,173
48 user-img daniel tosh @danieltosh 25,792,990 130 13,330
49 user-img Alicia Keys @aliciakeys 25,441,561 671 7,017
50 user-img NBA @NBA 24,630,068 1,601 161,583
51 user-img Louis Tomlinson @Louis_Tomlinson 24,263,814 3,754 5,956
52 user-img Emma Watson @EmmaWatson 24,253,636 353 1,569
53 user-img Shah Rukh Khan @iamsrk 24,066,787 82 56,290
54 user-img Liam @LiamPayne 23,863,937 16,697 9,361
55 user-img Pitbull @pitbull 23,855,981 2,666 7,164
56 user-img Khloé @khloekardashian 23,405,029 319 54,155
57 user-img Conan O'Brien @ConanOBrien 22,768,345 1 2,912
58 user-img Real Madrid C. F. @realmadrid 22,704,280 52 55,883
59 user-img NASA @NASA 22,506,253 263 46,391
60 user-img Kourtney Kardashian @kourtneykardash 22,041,054 72 11,864
61 user-img Salman Khan @BeingSalmanKhan 21,988,685 23 42,094
62 user-img NFL @NFL 21,475,290 2,420 139,363
63 user-img zayn @zaynmalik 21,364,325 2,285 3,312
64 user-img Kendall @KendallJenner 21,347,976 140 8,996
65 user-img David Guetta @davidguetta 21,243,034 247 3,698
66 user-img Marshall Mathers @Eminem 20,800,474 0 647
67 user-img NICKI MINAJ @NICKIMINAJ 20,768,448 4,295 37,848
68 user-img Avril Lavigne @AvrilLavigne 20,757,510 150 3,485
69 user-img FC Barcelona @FCBarcelona 20,504,631 59 85,493
70 user-img Aamir Khan @aamir_khan 20,308,628 9 467
71 user-img Kylie Jenner @KylieJenner 20,033,746 1,175 11,967
72 user-img Chris Brown @chrisbrown 19,701,831 1 3,291
73 user-img The Economist @TheEconomist 19,598,965 158 101,833
74 user-img Coldplay @coldplay 19,584,432 1,510 6,426
75 user-img Blake Shelton @blakeshelton 18,994,212 718 10,128
76 user-img BBC News (World) @BBCWorld 18,778,546 80 252,808
77 user-img Ed Sheeran @edsheeran 18,038,982 776 32,233
78 user-img ashton kutcher @aplusk 17,974,723 762 9,496
79 user-img Deepika Padukone @deepikapadukone 17,839,369 74 3,202
80 user-img Mariah Carey @MariahCarey 17,670,910 96 7,313
81 user-img Google @Google 17,437,678 435 68,886
82 user-img Leonardo DiCaprio @LeoDiCaprio 17,291,482 143 863
83 user-img د. محمد #العريفي @MohamadAlarefe 17,155,001 5 33,599
84 user-img Reuters Top News @Reuters 17,112,922 1,048 181,522
85 user-img Ricky Martin @ricky_martin 17,014,122 398 6,239
86 user-img PMO India @PMOIndia 16,908,710 381 14,409
87 user-img PRIYANKA @priyankachopra 16,842,701 516 19,644
88 user-img Vine Creators @VineCreators 16,811,231 0 3,694
89 user-img Akshay Kumar @akshaykumar 16,739,848 21 3,612
90 user-img أحمد الشقيري @shugairi 16,718,768 139 8,476
91 user-img Hrithik Roshan @iHrithik 16,687,567 88 4,117
92 user-img National Geographic @NatGeo 16,420,195 18 36,152
93 user-img Snoop Dogg @SnoopDogg 16,404,513 2,740 38,544
94 user-img President Trump @POTUS 16,343,527 38 379
95 user-img AGNEZ MO @agnezmo 16,309,154 1,071 14,596
96 user-img Christina Aguilera @xtina 16,287,725 23 972
97 user-img Ryan Seacrest @RyanSeacrest 15,877,060 553 12,483
98 user-img Alejandro Sanz @AlejandroSanz 15,774,455 1,035 27,643
99 user-img TwitterLatAm @TwitterLatAm 15,684,390 56 2,649
100 user-img President Obama @POTUS44 15,555,989 79 352

Top 100 Users on Twitter

For celebrities, Twitter is like a battleground when it comes to them being able to claim that they have the most followers on their accounts. It really is like a badge of honor to some and it certainly allows their competitive streak to come out like never before.

What you will find is that the top 100 most followed users on Twitter is hotly contested and at the top of the pile sits Katy Perry with a staggering 91 million followers who are probably quite content at the fact she has so far sent over 7,000 tweets. Sitting in second place is Justin Bieber and those two have really been battling it out for some time on Twitter so he will probably be slightly disappointed with the fact that he has just 86 million followers.

Now, those two are not a surprise, but there are a few shocks in the middle of the top 10 of this list none more so than Barack Obama being the fourth most popular with 76 million followers and he beats Rihanna by more than 12 million followers as she rounds out the top five.

But there are other shocks and surprises.

For example, Lady Gaga, who was once at the top, has seen herself being surpassed on a number of occasions and she now sits in 7th position with 62 million followers. In other words, she has a lot of ground to make up if she wants to move up the ladder so to speak. Also, people will probably be shocked to discover that, when it comes to the top 100 most followed users on Twitter, that Kim Kardashian misses out on the top 10 but only just. She is currently sitting in 11th position with 47 million followers but she has a long way to go in order to get into the top 10.

As you move further down the list of the top Twitter users and their number of followers, you do notice that it is not all about recording artists or even just human beings in general. If we ignore the fact that even Instagram and their account has more followers than a huge number of celebrities and focus on other ‘groups’ or ‘organizations’ and see what they have to offer.

What you then find is that the top non-individual or non-human in the list is actually CNN Breaking News and they are in 16th position with a pretty impressive 41 million followers. They are far and away the most popular account of this type on Twitter as nobody else can get anywhere near them.

In actual fact, you then have to drop way down to 29th position where you will find the Sports Center account making an appearance with it just one place ahead of the New York Times with both of them having just over 29 million followers.

But who just scrapes into the list of the top 100 most followed users on Twitter? Well, at this point you are looking at people such as Ricky Martin and Danilo Gentili and they have just a fraction over 14 million followers each which is still pretty good considering the sheer number of accounts that are on there. However, they do need to work harder if they wish to rise up the rankings although they are pretty close in numbers to the likes of Snoop Dogg and even Twitter Sports who you would have thought would have been more popular than that.

Of course, this list is going to be ever changing and a number of the celebrities that do actually appear on this list are getting pretty competitive when it comes to them being able to overtake some of their colleagues and fellow stars. It is actually quite interesting to compare this list with other forms of social media as you see where some will focus primarily on one type of media while others prefer to try to dominate everything and everywhere. The one thing that you can be sure of is that this is a battle that is going to continue and you are guaranteed that if you check the list in the near future that there will be some movement throughout this top 100 list.

2016 © Top100Social.com